12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...
 
HomeFAQRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Throttle Meister first impression and review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Kinkajou
Montanarolo
Montanarolo


Posts : 17
Join date : 2015-08-09

PostSubject: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Sat Dec 05, 2015 8:40 am

Hi Everyone,

I just got my new (and first throttle meister)  just bought about making a quick review as at least here in canada, you don't see a lot of them.

First, shipping was really quick:  Less than one week and we are just before X-Mas

Second, the price:  I got the basic finish (brushed stainless)  for 145$ US and that seems really reasonable once you see the quality!

Installation:  It took about 25 minutes having coffee and taking my time.

Looks:  you can get many different finish and size from brushed to chrome or black powder coated and they look and feel high quality

Ease of use:  they are just so user friendly... just twit the knob while riding or when you stop and plan on cruising and it will keep the throttle where you set it....no more right hand that goes numb....also, I got the heavy size and they do an awesome job at reducing the vibration....

After 35+ years riding, I don't know how I rode without that!!!!! go for it

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
Back to top Go down
NorthernProducer
Tiradritto
Tiradritto


Posts : 326
Join date : 2015-02-13
Age : 70

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Sun Dec 06, 2015 7:05 pm

I'm a fan...my last 3 VFR's (I've had every Gen up to my last 2007 model) had Throttle Meister's and have always been pleased with their quality and function. Thanks for the review...
Back to top Go down
beetle
GRiSO
GRiSO


Posts : 3959
Join date : 2013-09-30

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Sun Dec 06, 2015 8:02 pm

I've got an Omni-Cruise thumb operated throttle lock. I used it a lot when I had the stock bars (got wanker's wrist on a long ride). Not so much with the Mana bars. Anyhoo, I still sometimes like to warm my right hand on the cylinder head on a cold day. The throttle lock is OK, but it creeps and you can start slowing down or even speed up. I also find the lock takes up too much throttle real-estate.

Long story short, do these type of throttle locks actually work? How easy are they to engage? I'd shied away from them because I thought they'd be fiddly to operate.
Back to top Go down
Pete Roper
GRiSO
GRiSO


Posts : 3767
Join date : 2013-05-29
Age : 59

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:52 am

On my old carb bikes with their horrid throttle springs I ran a Vista type cruise control but in all honesty the throttle is so light compared to what I grew up with its actual operation doesn't worry me. What I would really like is a proper cruise control and while various people have been very helpful and informative about this I simply haven't had the time to get it organised.

Of all the things I liked about the Cali 14 I had the cruise control was at the very top of the list. Simply because when you are doing the boring 'Drone' to get somewhere interesting it's great for keeping your licence. The problem I have with the GRiSO is keeping it at a *Safe* 110, (120-125 on the freeway) indicated as it invariably creeps up and if I don't spend my whole time looking at the dash rather than the road I find myself travelling at 130-140+ and that is licence loss and huge fine territory. Sure you risk it if you're having fun but it would be an arse to loose your licence and $1,000+ just for droning down a freeway!

I reckon if I get new bars with a different bend, (I like Mark S's ones.) I can get rid of the 'Wanker's Wrist' but it won't help with the creeping acceleration issue when bored. The Throttlemeister/Vista type locks just frustrate me as they don't self-compensate like a real cruise control and that bugs me and makes me fidgety! Boy! What a pathetic First World Problem! Very Happy

Pete
Back to top Go down
Kinkajou
Montanarolo
Montanarolo


Posts : 17
Join date : 2015-08-09

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:59 am

beetle wrote:
Long story short, do these type of throttle locks actually work? How easy are they to engage? I'd shied away from them because I thought they'd be fiddly to operate.

Hi Mark,

with the throttle meister, you wont have any isssues slowing down or accelerating, it does an awesome job at reducing the vibrations so this will not be an issue. As per being easy to operate, they are really easy to disengage and to engage with one hand is a bit harder but when Im planning to use it, I just engage it right away and you still can operate the throttle, it will just not release on its own. You actually adjust how much friction you aplly. Also, if you are using after market bars, the kit I got thread directly into the bar ends so you may need a different kit or an insert with the same treads.
Back to top Go down
Kinkajou
Montanarolo
Montanarolo


Posts : 17
Join date : 2015-08-09

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Mon Dec 07, 2015 7:08 am

Pete Roper wrote:
I reckon if I get new bars with a different bend, (I like Mark S's ones.) I can get rid of the 'Wanker's Wrist' but it won't help with the creeping acceleration issue when bored. The Throttlemeister/Vista type locks just frustrate me as they don't self-compensate like a real cruise control and that bugs me and makes me fidgety! Boy! What a pathetic First World Problem! Very Happy

Pete

Hi Pete,

the creeping acceleration is the exact reason I got the throttle meister and it does a great job at keeping your drivers licence...Here on the 400, its pretty easy to end up driving around 200 and stilll getting passed by cars.... Also, it keeps my right hand from getting numb after an hour but as you said, they dont compensate for elevation gain but are still a great improvement for touring and keeping the bike simple and not looking cluttered
Back to top Go down
DungeonMaster
GRiSO
GRiSO


Posts : 1163
Join date : 2013-11-26
Age : 53

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Mon Dec 07, 2015 5:19 pm

That looks like the unit on the Cali Titanium I just got.
Sounds pretty nice.
Back to top Go down
beetle
GRiSO
GRiSO


Posts : 3959
Join date : 2013-09-30

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:54 pm

I turfed the Omni-Cruise and bought a Kaoko.  Ordered the Stelvio-with-hand-guards version so that I could a bit of length (plus some weight) to fit the bar-ends. This version has flat-ended weights.

I also ordered the Stelvio hand-guard Kit from Pete, so that I could have a matching weight on the other end, plus I can put the guards on if I feel like a sook in winter.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
Back to top Go down
Pete Roper
GRiSO
GRiSO


Posts : 3767
Join date : 2013-05-29
Age : 59

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Tue Dec 15, 2015 11:04 pm

The hand guards are on BO. Hope there is no huge urgency.....

Pete
Back to top Go down
beetle
GRiSO
GRiSO


Posts : 3959
Join date : 2013-09-30

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Tue Dec 15, 2015 11:52 pm

Nope!
Back to top Go down
waterbottle
GRiSO
GRiSO


Posts : 1036
Join date : 2015-02-02
Age : 55

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Wed Dec 16, 2015 2:37 am

The Kaoko's work purdy gooood Thumbs Up
Back to top Go down
Steak
L'Innominato
L'Innominato


Posts : 1904
Join date : 2013-05-28
Age : 51

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:58 pm

I put the very same KAOKO on the Orange Blossom Special (Stelvio NTX) and it works very well. It's a very nicely machined piece and quite substantial.

Viva la Fiesta

--- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- ---
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

2012 MOTO GUZZI GRiSO 1200SE

2013 MOTO GUZZI STELVIO 1200NTX - Orange Blossom Special
Back to top Go down
http://www.grisoghetto.com
Cereal KLR
Carlotto
Carlotto


Posts : 39
Join date : 2015-10-12

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:49 pm

Have had both, have TM on current GRiSO. Once set up correctly they do work well but I still find myself having to look down at it to engage or use half a hand to hold throttle and other half to twist it tight.
Back to top Go down
Kinkajou
Montanarolo
Montanarolo


Posts : 17
Join date : 2015-08-09

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:53 am

Hey Mark,

Hows the Kaoko?

Thats what I was looking for originally but it was a pain to order as they are in south africa so I went with the throttle meister as they are located across the lake in milwakee.

Still curious to see how it works. Other thing, the throttle meister come with the matching weight for the other side, not sure about the kaoko

Let me know if you have a few minutes
Back to top Go down
beetle
GRiSO
GRiSO


Posts : 3959
Join date : 2013-09-30

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:33 am

I like it. It works as advertised. I'm still in the 'getting to know you' phase, trying to get used to it. It is designed to look like the existing bar weight, so you don't get a matching weight with it. I got the Stelvio version, for reasons now 'defunct', and I'm still waiting for Luigi to send the Stelvio stuff I ordered.

There's a local distributor here. Surely there's a distributor in North America?
Back to top Go down
tocino
Nibbio
Nibbio


Posts : 556
Join date : 2014-06-21

PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Tue Dec 29, 2015 12:30 pm

Both TwistedThrottle.com and RevZilla carry the line, but their sites don't specifically list the GRiSO. I'll bet they can order one from the manufacturer.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Throttle Meister first impression and review   Today at 11:49 am

Back to top Go down
 
Throttle Meister first impression and review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
GRiSO ghetto :: The Ghetto :: GRiSO Inspiration-
Jump to: