12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...

HomeFAQRegisterLog in

Share | 

Ear plugs I have known

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
beetle
GRiSO
GRiSO

PostSubject: Ear plugs I have known   Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:23 am

Ear plugs. You should wear them. Even if the wind noise doesn't bother you, it's messing with your hearing. I've been riding for 25 years and listening to loud music for 40. My ears are buggered. I have horrendous tinnitus. Although I'm pretty sure my ears were destroyed at a Rose Tattoo concert in 1984, riding for years without plugs just added insult to injury.

The foamy disposable

Pros: Fairly comfy. Functional. Blocks everything. Cheap as.

Cons: Can wriggle out by themselves. If you don't poke them in far enough, the helmet will pull them out while you're putting it on. Single use only. Well, can be used multiple times but get grungy and lose their shape after a few uses.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

The silicone moldable disposable

Pros: Comfy. Blocks everything.

Cons: single use only. Actually, you can use them maybe three times, but they get grungy quickly and eventually lose their pliability. Approx $3 per pair, so about $1 per use.

The small stiff silicon plugs on string:

Pros: None.

Cons: Hurt like bastards. Pop out randomly.

The Hi-Tech Silicon with ceramic noise filter plugs. $35

Pros: Comfy. Don't interfer with helmet. Don't wriggle out. Allegedly filter audible wind noise so you can still hear traffic noise, intercoms etc. Reusable for ever. Brand: NoNoise. Ahem.

Cons: Enhance wind noise to the point all you can hear is the fracking wind. Works in concert with helmet to amplify wind noise to deafening roar.

The Hi-Tech silicon with interchangeable plastic wind noise filter insert plugs. $45