GRiSO ghetto
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...

HomeRegisterLog in

Transmission "Stuck" while downshifting

Go down 
+8
WCB
mark111
sidrat
beetle
Grisonut
Pete Roper
DungeonMaster
austin_22
12 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
austin_22
Tanabuso
Tanabuso
austin_22

Transmission "Stuck" while downshifting Empty
PostSubject: Transmission "Stuck" while downshifting   Transmission "Stuck" while downshifting Icon_minitime1Wed Oct 22, 2014 6:13 pm

I am new to the Guzzi line and have had several, with increasing frequency, issues trying to downshift. As the story goes, I am cruising at constant speed or accelerating, when for whatever reason I need to slow and/or increase RPMs so I pull in the clutch, press down on the shifter and am greeted with a loud "Nope" from my gearbox. The shifter is just stuck, won't go down. The first few times I was thrown off to the point of mentally saying "Oh Shit" for the first half second, but now I have learned to simply re-engage the clutch and then try again. So far this has always worked and after re-engaging and then trying to downshift again I have had no issues.

One more thing. After pulling up to a red light with the bike still in first gear, I let go of the front brake to raise my visor and the bike started moving forward, this was the first time I had experienced the issue and was very confused. I tried like hell to get the bike out of first but could not. Finally after cycling the clutch and throttle several times with varying degrees of complexity, I finally managed to get her into neutral. But all the while she was in gear, the bike was literally pulling forward with the clutch fully de[pressed.