GRiSO ghetto
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.


12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...
 
HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in
 

 Lost inspection port plug

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
bradbusa
Tanabuso
Tanabuso
bradbusa


Posts : 59
Join date : 2015-02-14
Age : 37

Lost inspection port plug Empty
PostSubject: Lost inspection port plug   Lost inspection port plug Icon_minitime1Sun Feb 28, 2016 3:17 pm

Dont ask me why, but for some reason i found myself needing to reinstall the inspection port plug for the flywheel/clutch on the right side of the bike today. Naturally, when i pushed it in, it went too far but was still visible. No big deal i thought, i'll just grab a pick and pair of pliers and weasel it back out. the second my pick touches the rubber it falls down into oblivion. I have tried turning the crank by hand (removed the plug on the belt cover in the front and turn the big nut with a socket wrench) no amount of turning brings the plug back into visibility in either the opening on the side, or the small opening between the engine and trans on the very bottom. In my mind, it is small soft rubber and probably wont hurt anything if it stays there; I still dont like knowing that something is there that shouldn't be.

If any of you have done this before, is there an easier way to retrieve it?
Will it hurt anything if i leave it there? (it'll probably disintegrate soon, right?)

Thanks for any and all suggestions


[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]


Thanks
Brad
Back to top Go down
Grisonut
GRiSO
GRiSO
Grisonut


Posts : 1398
Join date : 2014-01-02

Lost inspection port plug Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lost inspection port plug   Lost inspection port plug Icon_minitime1Sun Feb 28, 2016 3:32 pm

Might be a real bitch to fish it out but it won't hurt anything.
Crank the engine and use a vacuum to the port and see if you get lucky that way...
Good luck.
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest
avatar



Lost inspection port plug Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lost inspection port plug   Lost inspection port plug Icon_minitime1Sun Feb 28, 2016 7:00 pm

If you vacuum it out, plug the drain hole at 6 O'clock.
Any other time it won't work.

Or you could smash a freakin' big hole on the bottom of the bell housing. clown
Back to top Go down
Pete Roper
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
Pete Roper


Posts : 9466
Join date : 2013-05-29
Age : 65

Lost inspection port plug Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lost inspection port plug   Lost inspection port plug Icon_minitime1Sun Feb 28, 2016 8:17 pm

Buy a new one, install it, forget about the old one, it'll get spat out of the slot at the bottom. The plug is an anachronism that has no purpose now. Never touch it again.

Pete
Back to top Go down
Bill Hagan
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
Bill Hagan


Posts : 1644
Join date : 2014-07-03

Lost inspection port plug Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lost inspection port plug   Lost inspection port plug Icon_minitime1Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:45 am



$1.61. In stock.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Problem with that "solution" is that I seem always to buy something I didn't know I needed to get to the "minimum order" ($10) amount.  Rolling Eyes

BTW, I think I ordered 2 or 3 last year "just in case."  Happy to send one to you (no min order required  Very Happy)  ... if I can find one in the present pigsty conditions of my once-pristine Moto Grappa.

Bill

P.S.  I can speak with authority that a "better bourbon" bottle cork stopper will work.  Believe Knob Creek was the temp fix I used last.  I can send one (or more!) of those, too.   pirat
Back to top Go down
bradbusa
Tanabuso
Tanabuso
bradbusa


Posts : 59
Join date : 2015-02-14
Age : 37

Lost inspection port plug Empty
PostSubject: Re: Lost inspection port plug   Lost inspection port plug Icon_minitime1Tue Mar 01, 2016 3:14 am

Thanks for the advice guys. Makes me feel better i'm not the only one who lost one of these.... i'm not right? Haha

Bill: i was placing the order with AF1 for a replacement as i was typing this.. shipping costs more than the damn part! i think i'll install this one with gorilla glue

better bourbon... i'll have to look into that. I might go out and buy a bottle just to see if the cork fits!!
Also might help with my sanity after working on this bike
Back to top Go down
 
Lost inspection port plug
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Adding a USB port
» TomTom GPS power port
» Red key - Lost. Its ok
» Tappet inspection video?
» Tappet inspection. How long does it take?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
GRiSO ghetto :: The Ghetto :: GRiSOLOGY-
Jump to: