12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...

HomeFAQRegisterLog in
Share | 

Was planning on doing a Beetlemap, but now...

Go down 
AuthorMessage
FlatTappeter
Squinternotto
Squinternotto

PostSubject: Was planning on doing a Beetlemap, but now...   Wed Oct 10, 2018 4:39 pm

My bike has a scored barrel, so will also need a new piston and rings  Shocked.

This was the report I had yesterday from the Guzzi service agent, when they investigated low compression on the left pot.  I would still be none the wiser had I not asked them at its recent service, about the amount of fresh oil collecting in the airbox drain pipe.  A compression check indicated the left cylinder was 70psi down compared to the right, and a leakdown test showed the crankcase was being pressurised (which might account for the extra oil in the drain pipe).

As I'm not a mechanic, could the compression imbalance have been responsible for extra vibes when accelerating?  This is one of the things I noticed following the tappet conversion done (by a different MG service agent) last year.  It also seemed slightly less eager to rev.  As I said, not being a mechanic I assumed these to be natural characteristics of the roller conversion, and I didn't question them further after the agent could shed no light.  Note, this had been the first tappet conversion done by the agent.

One comment made by the agent following the conversion has always bugged me, and that is when they first started the bike it made a bit of a racket.  Would they have needed to remove the cylinders to do the conversion (using a 'C' kit)?  It's by no means conclusive that they screwed up somewhere, as in spite of everything the bike has still been running remarkably well, but I would be grateful if anyone here can suggest potential causes for the existing cylinder damage.  The bike's not yet done 30k miles.