GRiSO ghetto
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...

HomeRegisterLog in

Flat tappet failures

Go down 
+7
LRSAWYER
Grisonut
motor-timothy
sidrat
Pete Roper
Guzzi Cat
Austin Largan
11 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Austin Largan
Squinternotto
Squinternotto
Austin Largan

Flat tappet failures Empty
PostSubject: Flat tappet failures   Flat tappet failures Icon_minitime1Wed Apr 11, 2018 12:06 pm

Hello, I am new to Guzzis and this forum and I am learning about the tappet failure problem. Does anyone have any engine numbers/years or models which are prone to this issue? Or simpler still perhaps, is my model suspect?
My machine is a 2007 GRiSO 1100 (1064) registered Jan 07 in the UK.
I have been going through the posts but do not see anything as yet relating to the 2007 2V head model.
Thanks, any input welcome
Back to top Go down
Guzzi Cat
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
Guzzi Cat

PostSubject: Re: Flat tappet failures   Flat tappet failures Icon_minitime1Wed Apr 11, 2018 12:23 pm

Hi Austin and welcome to the forum, you don’t need to worry about the tapper failure problem as the 1100 models were not affected. Thumbs Up It was the later 8v 1200 model that shat out it’s tappetts and cam.
Back to top Go down
Pete Roper
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
Pete Roper

PostSubject: Re: Flat tappet failures   Flat tappet failures Icon_minitime1Wed Apr 11, 2018 3:40 pm

As GC says, no issues with the top end of the 1100’s. I’d strongly advise you to check and grease the swingarm bearings and shock linkage bearings though and be prepared to replace both if they’ve never been done.

Pete
Back to top Go down
Austin Largan
Squinternotto
Squinternotto
Austin Largan

PostSubject: Thanks guys   Flat tappet failures Icon_minitime1Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:33 am