GRiSO ghetto
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...

HomeRegisterLog in

Throttle cables replacement

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
motor-timothy
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
motor-timothy

Throttle cables replacement Empty
PostSubject: Throttle cables replacement   Throttle cables replacement Icon_minitime1Thu Apr 02, 2020 2:08 am

My throttle cables have rust dripping out of them, so I assume I will have to replace them very soon. I've never done this before but from what I can tell its a relatively simple job that doesn't require the removal of much (only the headlight and left side fairing I think?).
However I noticed the 'official' GRiSO throttle cables cost 65€ each, so 130€ for both the open & close cables. I've never bought throttle cables before but aren't these normally relatively cheap parts in the range of 20-30 bucks for a set? Anyone know if there is a good alternative?
Back to top Go down
Pete Roper
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
Pete Roper

PostSubject: Re: Throttle cables replacement   Throttle cables replacement Icon_minitime1Thu Apr 02, 2020 2:30 am

In 14 years of working on Grisos I've only ever replaced one cable.

Do you still have the rubber boots over the adjusters up by the twistgrip? If so where can water be getting in to cause rust?

Is the throttle getting stiff or refusing to close when you release the twistgrip? Are the cables fraying at the nipples? Top and bottom? If not I'd just leave them alone. Give the bottoms where the inner exits a spray with silicone or lanolin spray, NOT a mineral oil product, and ride.
Back to top Go down
motor-timothy
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
motor-timothy

PostSubject: Re: Throttle cables replacement   Throttle cables replacement Icon_minitime1Thu Apr 02, 2020 2:59 am

Pete Roper wrote:
In 14 years of working on Grisos I've only ever replaced one cable.