GRiSO ghetto
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...

HomeRegisterLog in

Oil breather leak??

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Kathakali
Carlotto
Carlotto
Kathakali

Oil breather leak?? Empty
PostSubject: Oil breather leak??   Oil breather leak?? Icon_minitime1Mon Sep 14, 2020 4:25 am

Hi y’all

Just picked up a 2014 GRiSO 8v SE with only 1200 miles on it.
I rode it 200+ miles and brought it home and noticed that oil is splashed on the right side heavily. I noticed oil was coming out what looks like a breather hose. Pic attached.
I am new to GRiSO. Looking to learn and fix it !!
Back to top Go down
Kathakali
Carlotto
Carlotto
Kathakali

PostSubject: Pic below    Oil breather leak?? Icon_minitime1Mon Sep 14, 2020 4:26 am

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
Back to top Go down
Pete Roper
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
Pete Roper

PostSubject: Re: Oil breather leak??   Oil breather leak?? Icon_minitime1Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:20 am

Yup, most likely the breather hose. They aren't the best and seem to suffer more if the bike is left sitting than if it's used regularly.

They are a 'Pre formed' hose and hard, but not impossible, to substitute for. I just replace with factory hoses which seem to have got a bit better over the years but still aren't crash hot. They're pricey but since I only change them every 5-8 years I don't get my knickers in a knot over them.

If one has gone the other won't be far behind. Replace the crappy condom on the condensor box at the same time.
Back to top Go down
Kathakali
Carlotto
Carlotto
Kathakali

PostSubject: Re: Oil breather leak??   Oil breather leak?? Icon_minitime1Mon Sep 14, 2020 1:56 pm

Thanks Pete. My friend was recommending to install a Oil catch can System coz it’s normal for oil to splash out of the breather tubes !! Ill go ahead and order these replacement hoses from af1 and give it a go.