GRiSO ghetto
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...

HomeRegisterLog in

First ride

Go down 
+8
cognosticator
sidrat
wyno
FrontRangeRider
H-E-ROSS
beetle
GHTE
2cylinderguy
12 posters
AuthorMessage
2cylinderguy
Don Abbondio
Don Abbondio
2cylinderguy

First ride Empty
PostSubject: First ride   First ride Icon_minitime1Wed Apr 18, 2018 6:39 am

Well, the GRiSO and I went out for our inaugural ride on Sunday. 200 miles around the Cotswolds with a couple of stops to include a cup of tea at 'On Yer Bike' in Waddeston and a spot of lunch in Broadway. I really like the easy power and the very accessible torque. The power is very linear and easily available (I bounced it off the rev limiter a couple of times and that surprised me as I've been riding twins for 11 years now!) making it deceptively fast. It'll lift it's skirt and zip up to ninety without trying and it's only the wind that makes it noticeable. Handling is good for long sweepers and not too troubled by proper twisties albeit a little slow to steer. I could feel it wobble a bit in the chassis when really pressing on but never scarily so. It's great out in the countryside at medium speeds and riding that torque. The gearbox is nice too, but ‘man alive’ is it uncomfortable. The foot pegs are too high and the seat is a shocker. By the time I got home I felt like I'd done 500 miles on my beemer. I've already started looking for lowered foot pegs and shall probably order the 'Vario 30mm drop' as well as some longer brake and shift lever ends and see how that works as my hips were in trouble on the way home. I've ordered some grip puppies as with most bikes the grips are too skinny and make my hands ache over the course of the day trying to hold on to them. I'd really like to try and make it work for me over the summer as it's a great bike and hopefully I'm not too old at 53 for the ergonomics althoug