12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...
 
HomeFAQRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 Opinions? Yeah we all have them....

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Pete Roper
GRiSO
GRiSO
avatar

Posts : 5619
Join date : 2013-05-29
Age : 61

PostSubject: Opinions? Yeah we all have them....   Sun May 06, 2018 10:37 pm

The bloke with the 2009 GRiSO I met at the pub turned up today. First time i’d Heard it running and I was able to say immediately it sounded like it had never been serviced or tuned and that I reckoned the tappets would be stuffed, (30+000km? Course they would be.).

Anyway he seemed a bit taken aback but 20 minutes later the LH cambox was on the bench and, sure enough....

He asked if it was possible to just ‘Tune it up a bit better’? I pointed out you can’t tune *Broken*and he reckoned it wasn’t that bad. So I offered him the Green Horror for a test ride, sent him off for 20 minutes and had a cup of coffee.

He returned,pulled into the driveway and even before he took his helmet off he said, “OK, my bike is broken.” Twisted Evil

B Kit going in this week.

Pete
Back to top Go down
waterbottle
GRiSO
GRiSO
avatar

Posts : 1625
Join date : 2015-02-02
Age : 57

PostSubject: Re: Opinions? Yeah we all have them....   Sun May 06, 2018 10:58 pm

Very good of you to loan out your GRiSO like that Pete. I too have the odd customer who thinks that if the paint is shiny all the mechanical workings must be good as well Rolling Eyes Shocked Laughing . They're usually the ones who demand you jump them to the front of the Que and fix it yesterday scratch
Back to top Go down
Pete Roper
GRiSO
GRiSO
avatar

Posts : 5619
Join date : 2013-05-29
Age : 61

PostSubject: Re: Opinions? Yeah we all have them....   Sun May 06, 2018 11:21 pm

Nothing wrong with this bloke Ron. He wasn’t ansty or anything, he’d only recently bought the bike and had never ridden a properly tuned GRiSO. Said bike was purchased from Peter Stephens in Melboring, I don’t think the valves had ever been set but it was hard to confirm with buggered tappets but they weren’t cavitated, just missing DLC, and the gaps were all over 10 thou. No sign of the bell crank screw ever having been touched and both air bleeds open. Make of that what you will.

I just think he’ll be amazed when it’s actually running right Very Happy

Pete

PS. I sack idiots who expect to be given ‘Special Treatment’. Nearly did it to a bloke today who wanted to know how much it would cost to rebuild the bevelbox on his T5. Dollar and cent quote on something I hadn’t laid eyes on! Grrrrrrrrrrrr Evil or Very Mad
Back to top Go down
davem
Biondino
Biondino
avatar

Posts : 235
Join date : 2013-12-17

PostSubject: Re: Opinions? Yeah we all have them....   Mon May 07, 2018 2:27 am

God knows how many people are out there blissfully unaware of the tappet issue on their bikes. I checked UK ebay recently and did not find one advert for a 8 valve CARC bike that mentioned if the bike had been rollerised.
Back to top Go down
sidrat
GRiSO
GRiSO
avatar

Posts : 1522
Join date : 2014-09-22
Age : 58

PostSubject: Re: Opinions? Yeah we all have them....   Tue May 08, 2018 2:28 pm

davem wrote:
God knows how many people are out there blissfully unaware of the tappet issue on their bikes. I checked UK ebay recently  and did not find  one advert for a 8 valve CARC bike that mentioned if the bike had been rollerised.

Dave, i took the bike to Wheels in Peterborough last week and when i booked it in that was the first question they asked me :-)
Back to top Go down
 
Opinions? Yeah we all have them....
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
GRiSO ghetto :: The Ghetto :: GRiSO Experience-
Jump to: