GRiSO ghetto
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...

HomeRegisterLog in

First Time Moto Guzzi Owner in Connecticut

Go down 
+8
austoolman
Bill Hagan
Peteypete
Oz1200Guzzi
Pete Roper
Chris W
bioman
Gator Bite
12 posters
AuthorMessage
Gator Bite
Squinternotto
Squinternotto
Gator Bite

First Time Moto Guzzi Owner in Connecticut Empty
PostSubject: First Time Moto Guzzi Owner in Connecticut   First Time Moto Guzzi Owner in Connecticut Icon_minitime1Wed Apr 26, 2023 12:40 pm

Hello group! My name is Mike and I’d like to introduce myself. I apologize for what is going to be a long first post, but I think my riding resume will help you understand how I got here and I hope that my experience might be interesting to others like me.

I’ve been riding motorcycles since I was 10 years old. I learned to ride on a Benelli Dynamo 65 (1 up 3 down shifter on the right..!). I’ve owned and ridden many bikes since then, including a Honda XR-80, a Hodaka Combat Wombat 125 and a Honda MR-250.

When I turned 18, I bought my first street bike. It was a 1981 Honda CX-500 Deluxe. Just in case you’re not familiar with the CX, it’s an upright bike built around an 80-degree transversely mounted V-Twin, liquid cooled with shaft drive. It’s sort of a copy of a Moto Guzzi.

The CX wasn’t something that I sought out; it was an opportunity buy. My girlfriend’s neighbor was selling it, I had just turned 18, it needed some work (had a coolant leak) and the price was right. I bought it, I fixed it and really fell in love with street riding. I didn’t know it at the time, but I also fell in love with the CX.