GRiSO ghetto
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...

HomeRegisterLog in

Speedometer issues (inaccurate speedo) ??aftermarket brake disk

Go down 
+2
beetle
Crazy88
6 posters
AuthorMessage
Crazy88
Carlotto
Carlotto
Crazy88

Speedometer issues (inaccurate speedo) ??aftermarket brake disk Empty
PostSubject: Speedometer issues (inaccurate speedo) ??aftermarket brake disk   Speedometer issues (inaccurate speedo) ??aftermarket brake disk Icon_minitime1Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:11 am

Hi all, I'm completely new to Moto Guzzi, always wanted one and have just picked up a 2010 GRiSO, Woohoo!

Since taking delivery though I've been a bit suspicious of the speedo, I took it for its first big ride and sure enough it was reading low... I've since ridden with a GPS speedo alongside and it's actually reading between half and 2/3 of my actual road speed, and is also a bit sluggish/erratic. It's affected all the way through the speed range.

I've seen a few threads on speedo sensor failure but none that presented like this so I thought I'd ask whether anyone has had the same problem, but also document the fix.

The speedo sensor doesn't look like it's in good order, there's a few pinholes in the cable, by the little grommet the holds it in; I'll try that first, just talking the the (Triumph) dealer that I bought it from to see how much they're willing to pay for.

Incidentally, the last thing they did before sending it out was replace the rear brake disc; it doesn't look like the stock one, it has a solid ring around the inside, incorporating the fixing holes where the stock one seems to just have the holes branching off the main disk... has anyone got an aftermarket one fitted? Any issues? I'm not really up on how the sensor reads the speed or whether that would interfere.