GRiSO ghetto
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...

HomeRegisterLog in

Moto Guzzi Scura?

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
DangWangi
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
DangWangi

Moto Guzzi Scura? Empty
PostSubject: Moto Guzzi Scura?   Moto Guzzi Scura? Icon_minitime1Tue Nov 21, 2017 6:55 pm

Hi all!
So I'm still new to the MG family and doing my best to learn all about the different models, years, successes and failures of the MG family, but came across this little beastie (2002 V11 Scura Sport) and thought I'd pick your brains. I found one for sale in Las Vegas, NV (2002) with 10,750 mi going for $4,995 usd (17,300km/6,595.96AUD) and was curious if folks here had any thoughts, good or bad on this bike/model/year?  It's selling for a price where with one more glass of bourbon it would sound good, but that's without knowing much about these bikes.  Should I avoid it like the plague and put it out of my mind, or toy with the idea of giving my GRiSO some company in the garage? Thanks for any advice and/or feedback.

Link to Scura
Back to top Go down
kiwi dave
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
kiwi dave

Moto Guzzi Scura? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Moto Guzzi Scura?   Moto Guzzi Scura? Icon_minitime1Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:12 pm

They had a reputation for grenading the clutch. The original was a single plate model, a lot of owners went back to the twin plate version.

They were also the first of the V11 series with Ohlins suspension.
Back to top Go down
Pete Roper
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
Pete Roper

Moto Guzzi Scura? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Moto Guzzi Scura?   Moto Guzzi Scura? Icon_minitime1Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:00 pm

The Ohlins were dangerously undersprung, that will need addressing if it hasn't been already. You also need to junk the single plate clutch and flywheel as they are shatter prone.