GRiSO ghetto
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

12425 - Established June, 2013 - all GRiSO, all the time...

HomeRegisterLog in

Just changed my fork oil

Go down 
+13
kiwi dave
Lobo
beetle
McCarthy1983
cognosticator
Steak
Bulldog9
usedtobefast
Pete Roper
MalG
tvboy
bahamazoo
GuZeee
17 posters
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
GuZeee
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
GuZeee

Just changed my fork oil Empty
PostSubject: Just changed my fork oil   Just changed my fork oil Icon_minitime1Sun May 05, 2019 7:48 pm

Just finished changing my fork oil. I have never done this before on any bike I have owned, I just recently learned you’re supposed to do it once a year. Since I just recently adjusted suspension sag and rear rebound which made a huge difference, I thought why not finish the job? The bike only has 11k miles on it, but it’s a 2009 and I doubt it’s ever been done.

It was straightforward: remove front wheel, loosen pinch bolts and the fork tubes slide right out of the triple tree. Then you can unscrew the top cap (loosen them before disassembling), drain the old oil, and replace with fresh stuff.

I haven’t done a test ride yet to see if it feels any different, but I’m sure the placebo effect will reward my efforts with great feelings of new smoothness and handling excellence Smile

Bill Hagan likes this post

Back to top Go down
bahamazoo
GRiSO Capo
GRiSO Capo
bahamazoo

PostSubject: Re: Just changed my fork oil   Just changed my fork oil Icon_minitime1Sun May 05, 2019 11:35 pm

wasn't as bad as expected then...
enjoy the new smoothness and handling excellence that goes with doing your own servicing Thumbs Up

- just as long as you put everything back, torqued it up, and don't have a few nuts and bits left over Razz

Back to top Go down
tvboy
Biondino
Biondino
tvboy

PostSubject: Re: Just changed my fork oil   Just changed my fork oil Icon_minitime1Mon May 06, 2019 10:40 am